BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

Gray wolves


Court: Feds Failed to Fully Assess Risks of Killing Thousands of Animals a Year in Idaho

BOISE, Idaho— In a powerful rebuke, a federal judge has ruled that a U.S. agency that kills thousands of animals a year in Idaho failed to adequately analyze the environmental risks of shooting, trapping and poisoning native wildlife like mountain lions, coyotes and foxes.

The court’s ruling, issued late Friday in a lawsuit brought by conservation groups, found that U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Wildlife Services program should have more carefully considered its proposed predator-killing activities’ impacts on the environment. The judge found that the agency had ignored science showing that killing predators does not decrease conflicts with livestock. This controversial killing warrants a much more thorough analysis, the ruling found.

“Wildlife Services will now have to fairly evaluate how killing thousands of coyotes in southern Idaho each year affects the environment,” said Talasi Brooks, a staff attorney for Advocates for the West who represented the groups. “The opinion is a win for wildlife and a win for management based on modern science.”

Read more.

Learn more aboutour work to save animals from Wildlife Services.

Contact: Andrea Santarsiere

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: Jim Cronin, Media Specialist jcronin@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 283-5474 ext. 411
Climate Change, Fracking, California Oil and Gas: Rebecca Fuoco, Media Specialist – rfuoco@biologicaldiversity.org, (213) 785-5400 ext. 109
Public lands, National Monuments and Borderlands: Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, Endangered Species Condoms: Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist –  jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 623-5252, ext. 315
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org


Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of gray wolves byJuan Jose Gonzalez Vega/Wikimedia