BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

Mexican gray wolf


Release of Three Mexican Gray Wolf Packs Needed to Put Recovery Back on Track

SILVER CITY, N.M.— Twenty-five conservation groups called on the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service today to release three more Mexican gray wolf packs, specifically mating pairs with pups, to the Gila Wilderness in New Mexico this summer.

Further releases are badly needed to improve numbers and enhance genetic diversity of the endangered canines to give the species a chance at survival. 

Release of packs was used to get reintroduction off the ground in 1998. But in 2007 the Service halted almost all releases of captive-born wolves due to pressure from the livestock industry seeking to limit expansion of the wolves’ numbers and range. Then in 2016 the Service switched to “cross-fostering,” the release of captive-born pups into existing packs in the wild and without their parents.  

Read more.

Learn more aboutour work to save Mexican gray wolves.

Contact: Michael Robinson

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: Jim Cronin, Media Specialist jcronin@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 283-5474 ext. 411
Climate Change, Fracking, California Oil and Gas: Rebecca Fuoco, Media Specialist – rfuoco@biologicaldiversity.org, (213) 785-5400 ext. 109
Public lands, National Monuments and Borderlands: Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, Endangered Species Condoms: Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist –  jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 623-5252, ext. 315
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of Mexican gray wolf by Robin Silver/Center for Biological Diversity