BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

Polar bear cub


Massive Oil Project Proposed in Fragile Arctic Reserve

ANCHORAGE, Alaska— The Trump administration today took a major step toward opening Alaska’s National Petroleum Reserve — the largest roadless area in the United States — to new, industrial-scale oil development. The project threatens polar bears, caribou and migratory birds that live and travel through the ecologically rich reserve.

The Bureau of Land Management announced it would prepare a development plan and study for ConocoPhillips to build up to five new drill pads, 250 wells, roads and pipelines in the reserve at its Willow site

“This massive oil project threatens one of the wildest, most beautiful places in America,” said Kristen Monsell, a senior attorney at the Center for Biological Diversity. “It will scar the land, harm wildlife and worsen climate change. We can’t let Trump allow the oil industry to suck the life out of this amazing place.”

Read more.

Learn about our work to save polar bears.

Contact: Kristen Monsell

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: Jim Cronin, Media Specialist jcronin@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 283-5474 ext. 411
Climate Change, Fracking, California Oil and Gas: Rebecca Fuoco, Media Specialist – rfuoco@biologicaldiversity.org, (213) 785-5400 ext. 109
Public lands, National Monuments and Borderlands: Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, Endangered Species Condoms: Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist –  jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 623-5252, ext. 315
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of polar bear cub by Alan D Wilson/Nature's Pics Online