BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

Tricolored blackbird

California Protects Tricolored Blackbirds, Lassics Lupine Wildflower

VENTURA, Calif.— The California Fish and Game Commission voted today to protect tricolored blackbirds as a threatened species under the California Endangered Species Act, 14 years after the Center for Biological Diversity petitioned for the bird’s protection. The commission also voted to protect the rare Lassics lupine mountain wildflower as endangered.

“These protections are critical for these two remarkable species, which face growing threats from habitat destruction, pesticides and climate change,” said Lisa Belenky, a senior attorney at the Center. “The commission’s decision will help stabilize their populations and prevent the tricolored blackbird and lupine wildflower from going extinct.”  

In 2016 the Center and Dave Imper, a retired U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service biologist, filed a state petition to protect the Lassics lupine. Found only in two small areas on the the Six Rivers National Forest, the total population of the pink alpine wildflower is estimated at fewer than 500 plants. The flower is threatened with extinction because of the effects of global climate change, including decreased snowpack and drought, habitat changes and increased seed predation by small mammals.

Read more.

Learn more about saving tricolored blackbirds.

Contact: Lisa Belenky

LATEST 10 PRESS RELEASES

April 20, 2018 – Appeal Challenges Oil Drilling in California's Carrizo Plain National Monument

April 19, 2018 – California Protects Tricolored Blackbirds, Lassics Lupine Wildflower

April 19, 2018 – Groups Rally for Public Lands, Protest Modesto 'Range Rights' Conference Featuring Ammon Bundy

April 19, 2018 – Trump Administration's Fracking Plan Ignores Health Threats, Worsens Deadly Ozone in Western Colorado

April 19, 2018 – Trump Administration Ignores Deepwater Horizon Lessons on Eve of Anniversary

April 18, 2018 – House Agriculture Committee Advances Farm Bill Filled With Sweeping Attacks on Environment

April 18, 2018 – L.A. County Approves Wildlife-killing Sprawl Development

18 de abril de 2018 – Vaquita, Tortugas, Lobos entre las 10 especies en peligro más icónicas de México

April 18, 2018 – Vaquita, Turtles, Wolves Among Mexico's Top 10 Most Iconic Endangered Species

April 17, 2018 – Senate Republicans Launch Attack on Clean Water Act Groundwater Protections

 

+ PRESS RELEASE ARCHIVES

THE CENTER IN THE NEWS

PERSPECTIVES AND OP-EDS

THE CENTER ON MEDIUM

MEDIA-READY SPECIES PHOTOS

MAPS

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: Jim Cronin, Media Specialist jcronin@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 283-5474 ext. 411
Climate Change, Fracking, California Oil and Gas: Rebecca Fuoco, Media Specialist – rfuoco@biologicaldiversity.org, (213) 785-5400 ext. 109
Public lands, National Monuments and Borderlands: Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, Endangered Species Condoms: Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist –  jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 623-5252, ext. 315
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of tricolored blackbird courtesy USFWS