BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

featured_image_title

Report: 20,000 Square Miles of Red Wolf Habitat Is Open for Urgently Needed Reintroductions

WASHINGTON— A new report reveals that approximately 20,000 square miles of public land across five sites in the southeastern United States would be well-suited to reintroducing red wolves. This critically endangered native species has dwindled to just 14 known individuals in the wild.

The report, released today by the Center for Biological Diversity, identifies suitable public lands in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, North Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia. Together the five sites could support nearly 500 breeding pairs of red wolves.

Today’s report urges the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to take steps immediately to return red wolves to these areas before they go extinct in the wild.

Read more.

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 623-5252 ext. 315
Climate: Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Public Lands, National Monuments and Borderlands:
Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, Endangered Species Condoms: Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist –  jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520)623.5252 ext. 315
Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of jaguar by Robin Silver, Center for Biological Diversity