BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

RSB.fraternus_XercesSociety_JenniferHopwood_FPWC

Endangered Species Act Protection Sought for Southern Plains Bumblebee

WASHINGTON— The Center for Biological Diversity petitioned the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service today to grant Endangered Species Act protection to the highly imperiled Southern Plains bumblebee.

Southern Plains bumblebees have declined over multiple decades and are now half as abundant as they were historically. Recent observation records show steep declines in the southern Great Plains states of Oklahoma and Texas and in the southeastern states of Alabama and Mississippi.

“These big, beautiful bees are disappearing at an alarming pace, but there’s still time to save them,” said Jess Tyler, a staff scientist at the Center and the petition’s author. “Extinction is a political choice, not an inevitability, so we’re urging the Fish and Wildlife Service to take fast action to save these bees.”

Read more.

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species, Carnivore Conservation: Aaron Kunkler, Media Specialist – akunkler@biologicaldiversity.org, (206) 949-5353
Energy Justice: Patrick Sullivan, Media Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Climate: Nyshie Perkinson, Media Specialist – nperkinson@biologicaldiversity.org, (718) 928-5148
International, foreign species, wildlife trade, World Heritage:
Patrick Sullivan, Media Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Public Lands, national monuments and borderlands:
Mary K. Reinhart, Deputy Director of the Media Program – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, offshore drilling, Arctic: Patrick Sullivan, Media Director – psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Pesticides, toxics, air pollution, industrial agriculture and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population and Sustainability: Kim Dinan, Media Specialist – kdinan@biologicaldiversity.org, (513)535-1306
Urban Wildlands, Government Affairs: Wendy Leung, Senior Media Specialist – wleung@biologicaldiversity.org, (818) 625-3128

Patrick Sullivan, Media Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of jaguar by Robin Silver, Center for Biological Diversity