BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

Marten

Legal Victory: Oregon Must Update Coastal Marten Trapping Regulations Before Next Season

PORTLAND, Ore.— In response to a lawsuit from the Center for Biological Diversity and Cascadia Wildlands, the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife has agreed to issue new regulations addressing the trapping of critically imperiled Humboldt martens in Oregon’s coastal forests. The regulations must be finalized by September, according to a legal agreement.

Fewer than 200 Humboldt martens survive in Oregon due to historical over-trapping and clear-cutting of coastal forests. Read more.

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: Jim Cronin, Media Specialist jcronin@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 283-5474 ext. 411
Climate Change, Fracking, California Oil and Gas: Rebecca Fuoco, Media Specialist – rfuoco@biologicaldiversity.org, (213) 785-5400 ext. 109
Public Lands, National Monuments and Borderlands: Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, Endangered Species Condoms: Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist –  jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 623-5252 ext. 315
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of marten courtesy USFWS