BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

featured_image_title

Kirtland’s Warbler Recovery Signals Midwest Endangered Species Act Success

WASHINGTON— The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service today announced the Endangered Species Act recovery of the Kirtland’s warbler, a songbird that nests in young jack pine forests. It is found primarily in Michigan, but also Wisconsin and Ontario.

As a result of this recovery, the bird has been removed from the federal list of endangered species. The Kirtland warbler recovery announcement follows a recent study in the journal Science that found that the overall population of North American birds has plunged by 3 billion since 1970.

“Even as America’s overall bird population has suffered a shocking decline, federal protections have driven a 10-fold increase in the Kirtland’s warbler,” said Noah Greenwald, endangered species director at the Center for Biological Diversity. “This bird flew off the endangered species list because the Endangered Species Act works.”

Read more.

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: Jim Cronin, Media Specialist jcronin@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 283-5474 ext. 411
Climate Change, Fracking, California Oil and Gas: Rebecca Fuoco, Media Specialist – rfuoco@biologicaldiversity.org, (213) 785-5400 ext. 109
Public Lands, National Monuments and Borderlands: Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, Endangered Species Condoms: Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist –  jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org (520) 623-5252 ext. 315
Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of jaguar by Robin Silver, Center for Biological Diversity