BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

California condor

After Second Endangered California Condor Shot, $15,000 Reward Offered

LOS ANGELES— The Center for Biological Diversity today tripled the reward to $15,000 for information leading to an arrest and conviction in the May 2018 shooting and subsequent death of a California condor in Tulare County. Condors are protected under California law and the federal Endangered Species Act.   

The killing was belatedly announced in September by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Another condor was shot in Kern County in July of 2018.

“I’m shocked that another California condor has been tragically shot and killed,” said Ileene Anderson, a senior scientist with the Center. “Why it took four months for the Fish and Wildlife Service to announce this illegal killing is unfathomable. We hope this additional reward pushes anyone with knowledge to come forward so this ugly crime can be fully prosecuted.” Read more.

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: Jim Cronin, Media Specialist jcronin@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 283-5474 ext. 411
Climate Change, Fracking, California Oil and Gas: Rebecca Fuoco, Media Specialist – rfuoco@biologicaldiversity.org, (213) 785-5400 ext. 109
Public Lands, National Monuments and Borderlands: Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, Endangered Species Condoms: Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist –  jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 623-5252 ext. 315
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of California condor courtesy AZ Game & Fish