Center for Biological Diversity


Media Advisory, September 14, 2015

Contact: Blair Fitzgibbon, Event Media Coordinator, Sound Speed Media, (202) 503-6141, blair@soundspeedmedia.com

Climate Coalition Calls on President Obama to Halt New Fossil Fuel Leases on Public Lands, Oceans

WASHINGTON— A coalition of more than 400 environmental, faith, labor, indigenous and advocacy groups and leaders will hold a press conference in front of the White House on Pennsylvania Avenue at 10 a.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 15 to call on President Obama to take executive action to stop new federal fossil fuel drilling on public lands and oceans.

Who:   Hundreds of environmental organizations and community leaders.
What:   The “Keep it in the Ground” coalition will hold a press conference near the White House calling on President Obama to stop new federal fossil fuel leasing on public lands and oceans in the United States
When:  Tuesday, Sept. 15 at 10 a.m.
Where: 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. (between Jackson and Madison)
Speakers:  Speakers will include “Bidder 70” Tim DeChristopher, community leaders from Alaska, Florida, New Mexico, Utah, and the Gulf of Mexico affected by federal fossil fuel extraction, and representatives of Center for Biological Diversity, Earthworks, Friends of the Earth, Rainforest Action Network, and WildEarth Guardians.

Download the coalition’s letter calling on President Obama to stop new fossil fuel leases on public lands and oceans here.

Background
Hundreds of prominent organizations and leaders from Alaska to Florida signed a letter calling on President Obama to stop new federal fossil fuel leases on public lands and oceans in the United States. Letter signers include indigenous leaders, labor unions, scientists, religious leaders, public interest groups and climate activists, including: Bill McKibben, Winona LaDuke, Robert F. Kennedy Jr., Dr. Noam Chomsky, Dr. Michael Mann, Tim DeChristopher, Dr. Stuart Pimm, Dr. Michael Soule, United Auto Workers Union, Unitarian Universalist Association, Physicians for Social Responsibility, Protect Our Winters, 350.org, Center for Biological Diversity, Environment America, Friends of the Earth, Food & Water Watch, Indigenous Environmental Network, Oil Change International, Greenpeace, Rainforest Action Network, REDOIL, Sierra Club, Waterkeeper Alliance, WildEarth Guardians and hundreds of others.

The letter argues that, by keeping publicly owned fossil fuels that haven’t been leased to industry in the ground, President Obama can keep nearly half of the potential emissions from all remaining U.S. fossil fuels, up to 450 billion tons, from the global pool of potential carbon pollution. More than 67 million acres of public land and ocean are already leased to the fossil fuel industry. That represents an area 55 times larger than Grand Canyon National Park and contains up to 43 billion tons of potential carbon pollution. This would accomplish more in the global fight against climate catastrophe than any climate action taken by the Obama administration to date.

Additional contacts for media
Karthik Ganapathy, 350.org, (347) 881-3784, karthik@350.org
Cherri Foytlin, Bridge the Gulf, (303) 462-4484, foytlinfam@cox.net
Louise Benally, Big Mountain Diné Nation, Indigenous Cultural Concepts, Media Island International (928) 206-1979, louisebenally6@gmail.com
Taylor McKinnon, Center for Biological Diversity, (801) 300-2414 tmckinnon@biologicaldiversity.org
Tim DeChristopher, Climate Disobedience Center, tim@timdechristopher.org
Jennifer Krill, Earthworks, (415) 336-8936, jkrill@earthworksaction.org
Darcey Rakestraw, Food & Water Watch, (202) 683-2467, drakestraw@fwwatch.org
Marissa Knodel, Friends of the Earth, (202) 222-0729, mknodel@foe.org
Kelly Mitchell, Greenpeace, (818) 282-0168, kelly.mitchell@greenpeace.org
Lauren Wood, Trip Director, Holiday River Expeditions, (801) 647-1540 lwood1988@gmail.com
David Turnbull, Oil Change International, (202) 316-3499 david@priceofoil.org
Catherine Thomasson, Physicians for Social Responsibility, (503) 819-1170 cthomasson@psr.org
Ruth Breech, Rainforest Action Network, (415) 238-1766, ruth@ran.org
Princess Lucaj, Resisting Environmental Destruction on Indigenous Lands (REDOIL), princesslucaj@gmail.com
Lena Moffitt, Sierra Club, (505) 480-1551, lena.moffitt@sierraclub.org
Tim Ream, WildEarth Guardians, (541) 531-8541, tream@wildearthguardians.org   


Go back