BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

Loggerhead sea turtle

Court Orders Hawaiian Shallow-set Longline Fishery to Close to Protect Loggerhead Sea Turtles 

HONOLULU— Complying with a federal court order, the National Marine Fisheries Service has immediately closed the Hawaiian shallow-set longline fishery for the rest of 2018 in order to protect endangered loggerhead sea turtles. Conservation groups are applauding the fishery closure that runs from May 8 through Dec. 31, 2018.

The ruling came in response to a lawsuit filed by Turtle Island Restoration Network and the Center for Biological Diversity, represented by Earthjustice, challenging the annual sea turtle interaction limits. After the court invalidated the inflated sea turtle limits, the lower limits compelled an immediate closure of the Hawaiian shallow-set longline fishery.

“The National Marine Fisheries Service, which is supposed to be protecting our wildlife, has instead been illegally helping the longliners push sea turtles to the brink of extinction,” said Earthjustice attorney Paul Achitoff. “We won’t allow it.”

Read more.

Learn more about our work to save loggerhead sea turtles.

Contact: Miyoko Sakashita

LATEST 10 PRESS RELEASES

May 18, 2018 – Court Agreement: Washington Will Give Public Notice Before Killing Wolves

May 18, 2018 – Arizona Partnership Launched to Protect Reproductive Rights, Planet

May 17, 2018 – Farm Bill Would Allow Widespread Killing of Endangered Species Via Pesticides

May 16, 2018 – Alaskans Challenge Old-growth Timber Sale in Tongass National Forest

May 16, 2018 – Study: Marine Mammals, Sea Turtles Protected by Endangered Species Act Are Recovering

May 15, 2018 – Court: Agency Wrongly Denied Protection to Sage Grouse in California, Nevada

May 15, 2018 – Legal Petition Challenges Trump Administration's Rollback of Tailpipe Pollution Standards

May 14, 2018 – Tiny Texas Cactus Recovered, No Longer Endangered

May 14, 2018 – Offshore Drilling Opponents Rally at Southern California Town Hall on Platform, Wells Deserted by Venoco

May 14, 2018 – Endangered Species Protection Sought for Iconic Lake Sturgeon

 

+ PRESS RELEASE ARCHIVES

THE CENTER IN THE NEWS

PERSPECTIVES AND OP-EDS

THE CENTER ON MEDIUM

MEDIA-READY SPECIES PHOTOS

MAPS

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: Jim Cronin, Media Specialist jcronin@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 283-5474 ext. 411
Climate Change, Fracking, California Oil and Gas: Rebecca Fuoco, Media Specialist – rfuoco@biologicaldiversity.org, (213) 785-5400 ext. 109
Public lands, National Monuments and Borderlands: Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, Endangered Species Condoms: Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist –  jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 623-5252, ext. 315
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of loggerhead sea turtle courtesy Picasa/JosephAndFarideh